مستقبل  خطط تويد ...

منذ سن مبكرة جدًا ، حلمت بأن أكون قادرًا على صنع ثوب من البداية وحتى نهاية العملية. أمتلك خرافي ، أحصد الصوف ، غزل الصوف ، نسج أو حياكة الخيوط وأنتج منتجًا نهائيًا. هدفي على المدى الطويل هو غزل الصوف في خيوط يمكنني استخدامها بعد ذلك لنسج التويد على نول هاترسلي لصنع شالات وحقائب وأوشحة وبطانيات والمزيد!

لقاء مع الأغنام

IMG_20210628_175425.jpg

العمة بيسي

الرئيس

غاضب ، لا يحب الناس كثيرًا. بالتأكيد المسؤول!

IMG_20210628_175010.jpg

Harriet

The Gentle one

Love her ears scratched shes a  gentle lovable sheep 

Hebridean x Scottish blackface sheep

Aunt Bessie

The Boss

Grumpy, doesn't like people very much. Definitely in charge!

hebridean ewe

باربرا

الخنزير

سيحاول أحد أكثر الناس جشعًا ، ويحب أن يُطعم يدويًا ، أن يتسلق ساقك ويدخل في الدلو

hebridean ewe

كوكو

أبواق متناظرة

ليس هذا ترويضًا ولكن سعيدًا بأخذ الطعام من اليد ، قرون متناظرة جميلة ومعطف بني شوكولاتة. أمي كلو

hebridean sheep

فلفل

المجنون

عندما ينتقل إلى حقل جديد ، يصبح Pepper متحمسًا للغاية ويضرب الجميع بأعقابه بينما يقفز كأنه شيء مجنون في جميع أنحاء الميدان. معطف بني غامق مرقط بأطراف رمادية

hebridean x cheviot sheep

مويرا

المراقب

مويرا تقف قريبة جدا  لكن لا تتدخل ، فقط تراقب عن كثب الجميع! لديها أيضًا أطراف ذهبية على معطف بني متوسط

hebridean sheep grazing

أقرن

المقرن الكبير

لا تقلق فالقرني لديها قرون طويلة جدًا ، ليس لأي سبب آخر! الهجين النموذجي مع الصوف البني الداكن.

hebridean sheep

لذيذ

الصغير

داينتي هي خروف جميل المظهر وحساس وهي خائفة جدًا من البشر لذا لا تقترب كثيرًا من وقت التغذية. صوف قذر بلون هجين داكن

IMG_20210628_175006.jpg

Jemima

Loves Everyone

The friendliest sheep I've ever met, loves cuddles and food! Wags her tail like a dog when she gets her chin scratched

IMG_20210628_175437.jpg

Liza

Shy

Much shier than the other gotlands but still loves her food!

hebridean sheep

ملكة جمال Moneypenny

المفضل لدي

أميرة صغيرة ، يجب إطعامها يدويًا لا تحب تناول الطعام على الأرض!

hebridean ewe

بادجر

مفضل مشترك!

أنا أحب بادجر ، فهي أكثر ودًا من الآخرين ، وتحب أن تُطعم يدويًا وستسمح لك بحك ذقنها. خطوط بنية في معطف رمادي في الغالب. أمي مهور

hebridean sheep close up

قهوة

أبواق متوهجة

على غرار Coco ولكن مع قرون متوهجة بدلاً من القرون الخلفية المنحنية ، معطف جميل بلون القهوة!

hebridean x cheviot sheep

موراج

الخجول

موراج يريد أن نكون أصدقاء ولكن لا يمكنه الحصول على الشجاعة الكافية ليأتي على طول الطريق. نصائح ذهبية جميلة لمعطف بني

hebridean sheep in the sun

مينا

واحد الأوسط

لا تبرز Meana ، لا توجد خصائص سلوكية واضحة ، لا تهتم بشكل خاص بالناس ولكن لا تخاف أيضًا ، وسط طريق الأغنام!

hebridean ewe with full udder

ليو

الأسد

تمتلك ليو بدة رائعة من الصوف حول رقبتها ، لذا لا تخمن من أين جاء اسمها! للأسف ولد حملها هذا العام

20211215_144415.jpg

موهور

المستقبل Tup

ولد Mhor في 16 أبريل 2021 ، ومن الواضح أنه من المقرر أن يكون Tup (Ram) من القطعان بصرف النظر عن والدته! لديه بالتأكيد شخصية ويريد أن يظهر للجميع من هو رئيسه!

ملحمة الأغنام ...

سنحت لي الفرصة في عام 2020 لشراء كروفت محلي عندما غادر أصحابها الجزيرة. وفي أكتوبر وصل أول قطيع من الأغنام. 10 نعجة عبرية تم شراؤها من صانع محلي. لقد فقدنا واحدًا بسبب عدوى بكتيرية مفاجئة ، اتضح أنه كان يجب علينا تطعيمهم ضد هذه الأنواع من البكتيريا لكنني لم أكن أعرف عنها ، عملية التعلم قيد التنفيذ. ثم تم تطعيم التسعة المتبقين!

عادةً ما يبدأ التزاوج (تزاوج النعاج) في وقت مبكر حتى منتصف نوفمبر ، ولكن بسبب عدم الاتصال ، لم يصل الكبش الذي كنت أنوي استعارته أبدًا في ديسمبر / يناير ، فقد تم تغطيته بواسطة كبش Vallais Blacknose الذي اقترضته من صديق. تم مسح النعاج بعد ذلك في الربيع ولكن للأسف تم مسح واحدة فقط كما في لحم الضأن. لذلك قررت شراء خمس نعجة جديدة كانت في لحم الحمل حتى أتمكن من الحصول على بعض الخبرة في تربية الحملان والحصول على بعض الحملان! 

قبل أسبوعين من الموعد المقرر لبدء الحمل وجدنا إحدى النعاج الجديدة (روغ) منهارة في الحقل بسبب الالتهاب الرئوي ونقص الكالسيوم. لقد بذلنا قصارى جهدنا ، فقد تناولت المضادات الحيوية والكالسيوم والجلوكوز وأمضت أسبوعًا في حظيرة دافئة بها الكثير من القش ، لكن من الواضح أنها كانت أكثر من اللازم بالنسبة لها. أجهضت الحمل ثم ماتت بعد أيام قليلة. كان الأمر محبطًا للغاية ولكننا فعلنا كل ما هو ممكن ، فقط أحد الأشياء التي عليك التعلم منها والمضي قدمًا. 

في السادس من نيسان (أبريل) ، في أقرب وقت كان من المقرر أن يحضروا فيه ، نزلت للتحقق منهم وظهر كوكو مع نعجة صغيرة جميلة! دعوتها Clo (بعد الكلمة الغيلية للقماش). لقد أمضت أسبوعا في الحظيرة مع النعاج الأخرى التي تنتظرنا ، حيث عانينا من نزلة برد شديدة مع تساقط ثلوج كثيفة لعدة أيام! عندما كان الطقس دافئًا ، خرجت النعاج وكلو إلى الحلبة الصغيرة وفي 16 أبريل ، كان علي أن أشاهد بادجر وهو يولد حملاً خروفًا رائعًا ليس صغيرًا جدًا أطلق عليه اسم Mhor (الكلمة الغيلية التي تعني كبير) أبواقه الصغيرة! لم أصدق حجمها عندما ولد ، فلا عجب أن المسكين بادجر كان يكافح في النهاية! عاد كلو ومهور والنعاج مع بقية القطيع إلى الحقل الأوسط حيث بدأ العشب في النمو. 

بعد أسبوعين في الثالث من مايو ، كانت نعجتي الأصلية ليو ، الشخص الوحيد الذي قام بفحص الحمل في الحمل ، كان لديه حمل ولكن للأسف لم ينجو. ربما كانت لا تزال مولودة أو حدث شيء ما بعد ولادتها ، لكنها بدت وكأنها ولادة طبيعية فاتني نصف ساعة أو نحو ذلك. تشعر بالذنب الشديد في هذا الموقف - لو كنت قبل نصف ساعة ، هل كنت ستنجو؟ لكن لا يمكنك أبدًا معرفة ما يمكن أن يكون وما عليك سوى المضي قدمًا. 

أخيرًا ، قام النعاجان الأخيران بإنزال الحملان ، في وقت متأخر جدًا من الموسم ، بعد تناول كبش أسود الوجه بعد وضعهما في المرعى العام. زوج من التوائم ، ولد وفتاة وفتاة كبيرة لطيفة وحيدة. يتجه الولد إلى المائدة ويتم تحويله إلى سجادة ، والفتيات اللواتي أخطط للتكاثر من مرة واحدة لنرى كيف ستكون حملانهن عندما يرقصن إلى هجين ، بعد ذلك سنرى. 

لقد حجزت اثنين من نعجة جوتلاند ، وكبش رتبنا لجمعه في يونيو ، متحمس جدًا للحصول على هذا الصنف نظرًا لامتلاكهما جودة رائعة من الصوف.

Future  Tweed Plans...

From a very early age I have dreamed of being able to create a garment from the very start to the very end of the process. Having my own sheep, harvesting their fleece, spinning the wool, weaving or knitting the yarn and creating a finished product. My long-term goal is to have the fleece spun into yarn which I can then use to weave tweed on my Hattersley loom to create shawls, bags, scarves, blankets and more!

Meet The Sheep

Hebridean x Scottish blackface sheep

Aunt Bessie

The Boss

Grumpy, doesn't like people very much. Definitely in charge!

hebridean ewe

Barbara

The Pig

One of the greediest, loves to be hand fed, will try to climb up your leg and into the bucket

hebridean ewe

Coco

Symmetrical Horns

Not that tame but happy to take food from the hand, lovely symmetrical horns and chocolate brown coat. Clo's Mum

hebridean sheep

Pepper

The Lunatic

When moved to a new field Pepper gets very excited and head butts everyone while leaping like a crazy thing around the field. Dark brown coat flecked with grey tips

hebridean x cheviot sheep

Moira

The Watcher

Moira stands quite close  but doesn't get involved, just keeps a close eye on everyone! She also has gold tips on a mid brown coat

hebridean sheep grazing

Horny

The Big Horned One

Don't worry Horny just has very long horns, not for any other reason! A typical hebridean with dark brown fleece.

hebridean sheep

Dainty

The Tiny One

Dainty is a lovely delicate looking sheep and she is very scared of humans so doesn't come too close at feeding time. Scruffy fleece in dark hebridean colour

hebridean ram lamb

Mhor

The Future Tup

Mhor was born 16th April 2021 and he is destined to be the flocks' Tup (Ram) apart from his mum obviously! He's definitely got character and wants to show everyone whos boss!

hebridean sheep

Miss Moneypenny

My Favourite

A little princess, has to be hand fed doesn't like eating off the ground!

hebridean ewe

Badger

Joint Favorite!

I love Badger, she is much friendlier than the others, loves being handfed and will let you scratch her chin. Brown streaks in mostly greyish coat. Mhor's Mum

hebridean sheep close up

Coffee

Flared Horns

Similar to Coco but with flared out horns rather than curved back ones, a lovely even coffee coloured coat!

hebridean x cheviot sheep

Morag

The Shy One

Morag wants to be friends but can't quite get up enough courage to come all the way over. Lovely gold tips to a brown coat

hebridean sheep in the sun

Meana

The Middle One

Meana doesn't stand out, no real obvious behaviour characteristics, not particularly interested in people but not scared either, a middle of the road sheep!

hebridean ewe with full udder

Leo

The Lion

Leo has a fantastic mane of fleece round her neck so no guesses where her name came from! Sadly her lamb was still born this year

hebridean lamb

Clo

The baby

Clo was born 6th April 2021 so she is the baby of the flock and my very first lamb! Boisterous and cheeky everyone loves her!

The Sheep Saga...

I got the chance in 2020 to purchase a local croft when the owners moved off the island. And in the October my first flock of sheep arrived. 10 Hebridean ewes purchased from a local crofter. We lost one to a sudden bacterial infection, it turns out we should have vaccinated them against these types of bacteria but I hadn't known about it, the learning process in action. The remaining 9 were then vaccinated!

Tupping (mating the ewes) normally starts early to mid November but due to a miss-commuication the ram I had intended to borrow never arrived so in December/January they were tupped by a Vallais Blacknose ram borrowed from a friend. The ewes were then scanned in the spring but unfortunately only one scanned as in lamb. So I decided to buy five new ewes who were in lamb so that I would be able to get some experience in lambing and have some lambs!  

Two weeks before they were due to start lambing we found one of the new ewes (Rogue) collapsed in the field with pneumonia and calcium deficiency. We tried our best, she had antibiotics, calcium, glucose and spent a week in a snug barn with plenty of hay, but it was obviously too much for her. She aborted the lamb and then a few days later died. It was so disappointing but we had done absolutely everything possible, just one of those things you have to learn from and move on. 

On the 6th of April, the very very earliest they were due I went down to check on them and Coco appeared with a lovely little ewe lamb! I called her Clo (after the Gaelic word for cloth). She spent a week in the barn with the other expectant ewes as we had a very cold snap with heavy snow for several days! When the weather warmed, the ewes and Clo went out into the small paddock and on the 16th of April I got to watch as Badger birthed a gorgeous not so little ram lamb I called Mhor (the Gaelic word for big) His little horns! I couldn't believe how big they were when he was born, no wonder poor Badger was struggling at the end! Clo, Mhor and the ewes went back in with the rest of the flock into the middle field as the grass had started to grow. 

Two weeks later on the 3rd of May my original ewe Leo, the only one who scanned in-lamb had her lamb but unfortunately it didn't survive. Maybe it was still born or something happened after it was born but it looked like a normal birth that I just missed by half an hour or so. You feel so guilty in this situation - if I had been half an hour earlier, would it have survived? But you can never know what might have been and just have to move on. 

We are now waiting for the last two new ewes to lamb, unfortunately I don't know when they are due so keeping a close eye. 

I have reserved two Gotland ewes, a ram and a wether that we have arranged to collect in June, very excited to be getting this breed as they have fantastic quality fleece.