قصتي...

كروسبوست هاريس تويد

كبرنا كنا نتعلم في المنزل لمدة عامين ، وخلال هذه الفترة مكنتنا والدتنا من تجربة جميع أنواع الحرف النسيجية بما في ذلك التلبيد والصباغة والغزل والنسيج. بعد زيارة جزيرة هاريس للمرة الأولى ، وقعت في حب هاريس تويد وحلمت بصنع قطعة قماش خاصة بي.  اشترت لي والدتي نول هاريس فوق الطاولة في عيد ميلادي وجربت الخيوط والألوان  والتصاميم. خلال زيارة أخرى للجزر بعد بضع سنوات ، تمكنت من المشاركة في جلسة الغزل التي زادت من اهتمامي بصنع ثيابي الخاصة.

  اشتريت لنفسي عجلة غزل ومارست الغزل وصبغ الخيوط الخاصة بي والنسيج في الأقمشة الملونة. حلمي بنسج هاريس تويد لم أفكر فيه بجدية أبدًا لأن فكرة الانتقال إلى الجزر بدت مستحيلة.

ومع ذلك ، بعد سنوات ، كنت يائسًا من الخروج من Wirral ، حيث كنت أعيش أثناء الجامعة ، وكنت أتدفق على أسعار العقارات عندما أدركت ، أننا قد نكون قادرين على القيام بذلك. أخبرت والدتي وإخوتي أنني وزوجي نخطط للانتقال إلى جزيرة لويس ، لكن بعيدًا عن الفزع قالوا إنهم سيأتون أيضًا! هذا عندما بدأت شرارة الإثارة الصغيرة التي ربما لم يكن من المستحيل الحصول عليها من أن تصبح حائكًا ...

بعد مرور عامين ، كنت قد اشتريت عقارًا متهدمًا في Crossbost واشترت شقيقتي منزلًا أكثر هشاشة في رانيش. انتقلنا في الخريف  2017 ، إلى منزل بدون تدفئة ولا عزل ، أرضيات خرسانية عارية ، نوافذ مكسورة ودرج مفقود! لقد ذهب حلمي في أن أكون حائكًا على الموقد الخلفي لأنه بدون أموال ولا مكان لنسجه كان سيتعين عليه الانتظار.

بعد عشرة أشهر من انتقالي ، كنت أتحدث إلى نساج محلي في المتجر حيث كنت أبيع ملابسي ومجوهراتي ، وقد ذكرت رغبتي في أن أصبح حائكًا. أشعل الحديث معه تلك الإثارة مرة أخرى وبدأت في التفكير بجدية في جعل حلمي حقيقة. عندما اتصل بي نفس الحائك بعد أسبوعين فقط ليقول إنه وجد لي نولًا ، قررت أن أذهب إليه!

لكوننا مباركين ببناء للزوج قررنا بناء سقيفة للنسيج في الحديقة. بعض التبرعات السخية بالمواد ، وقرض مصرفي ، وبعض المشاجرات الجادة لاحقًا ، لدي أكثر مكان مذهل يمكن لأي فتاة أن تتمناه!

في عام 2018 ، اجتازت قطعة الاختبار الخاصة بي ، وأنتجت أول لفة مدفوعة الأجر للمصنع ، وقمت بنقل النول إلى سقفي الجديد ، وأنا الآن أقوم بنسج تصميمات الفريدة الخاصة بي ، وبيع بعض القماش واستخدام الباقي لإنشاء ملابسي وحقائبي ، الملابس والاكسسوارات المنزلية. في عام 2019 علمت أختي الحياكة. بعد اجتياز قطعة الاختبار الخاصة بها وأصبحت حائكًا مسجلاً ، أصبحت الآن تنسج على النول الخاص بي للمساعدة في زيادة إنتاجي حيث أنجبت طفلة في أبريل 2020 مما حد من وقت النسج إلى حد ما!

shop.jpg
IMG_20210523_105812.jpg
17882013161296593.jpg
تصاميم الجزر الغربية

عندما كنت طفلة كنت محظوظًا بشكل لا يصدق لأن لدي أمًا ، منذ اللحظة التي تمكنا فيها ، شجعتنا على الخياطة والحياكة والطلاء والرسم والكتابة. في العطلة ، كنا نحتفظ باليوميات ودفاتر الرسم ، في المنزل ، نخلق أحدث ملابس باربي ، ونحبك الصوف الشتوي الخاص بنا ونرسم الغابة المذهلة التي عشناها. كان أول إبداعي الفردي هو ثوب الساتان مع براعم الورد الوردي لباربي الذي كنت فخوراً به بشدة. منذ ذلك الحين كنت دائمًا أخرج ماكينة الخياطة وأقوم بالتجربة. بعض تلك الأعمال المبكرة ألقي نظرة عليها وأتراجع!

في التاسعة عشرة من عمري ، عملت في متجر للملابس الرجالية في بيركينهيد ، ومن هناك تم البحث عن الرؤوس لإدارة خياطين رجال مستقلين حيث أجريت أيضًا تعديلات على الملابس. لقد أتاح لي هذا الوصول إلى عالم من الأقمشة والتصاميم ، وبنى تجربتي في قياس الملابس وصنعها وتفصيلها بالإضافة إلى تمكينني من بيع الحقائب والصدريات والمجوهرات والإكسسوارات من خلال المتجر.

لقد حققت حلمي بالانتقال إلى أوتر هبريدس في خريف عام 2017. من الاستوديو الخاص بي في قرية كروسبوست الصغيرة على جزيرة لويس أعمل على إبداعاتي. يتم بيعها بعد ذلك عبر متجر الاستوديو الخاص بي ، عبر الإنترنت وفي مساحة المنفذ الخاصة بي في Stornoway في متجر جديد لعام 2020 ، The Empty House! 

IMG_20211029_134434_100.jpg
IMG_20211029_115318.jpg
IMG_20211029_134434_187.jpg
مجوهرات الجزر الغربية

نشأت في غابة دين وقضيت عطلات في أوتر هبريدس ، لقد ألهمتني الطبيعة منذ سن مبكرة جدًا. كنت دائمًا أجمع الأوراق والأغصان والأصداف والحجارة والعظام والريش الممتعة. ثم التفكير الآن ماذا أفعل بهذا؟ صنع العروض ، وخلق فن يمكن ارتداؤه `` مثيرًا للاهتمام '' وإشباع المنزل بشكل عام بطريقة مشبعة. بعد الانتقال إلى جزيرة لويس في أوتر هبريدس في خريف عام 2017 ، استمرت عادة العقعق هذه مع الفرص المذهلة التي توفرها الشواطئ البيضاء النقية المغطاة بأصداف دقيقة وملونة ومتنوعة بشكل لا نهائي. كانت رغبتي في عرض التفاصيل المذهلة في كل اكتشاف فريد هو الذي أدى إلى إنشاء مجوهرات الجزر الغربية.

IMG_20190519_154656.jpg
a harris tweed weaver
IMG_20190519_154636.jpg
فنون الجزر الغربية

لطالما كنت أرسم وأرسم ولكن لم أحصل على تدريب رسمي يتجاوز GCSE Art ، اعتقدت دائمًا أنه لا أحد يرغب في شراء لوحاتي. لقد قمت ببيع صورتين للحيوانات الأليفة في الكلية ، ولكن كان هذا هو مدى مسيرتي المهنية الفنية! ومع ذلك ، عندما انتقلت إلى هنا ، كان عليّ رسم ورسم الحياة البرية والمناظر الطبيعية من حولي وبعد المشاركة على Facebook حصلت على أول عمليتي بيع! لقد منحني هذا الثقة لتجربة عملي في معرض الحرف المحلي وبيعها على الفور. منذ ذلك الحين ، زادت مهاراتي وأصبحت ثقتي في موضوعي ، وهو أمر يبعث على الارتياح للغاية إذا نظرنا إليه. أحب التقاط المناظر الطبيعية المحيطة - لا سيما اللحظات العابرة مثل شروق الشمس وغروبها والثلج والمد والجزر وما إلى ذلك ، والحياة البرية المحلية وحيوانات كروفت. لديّ مفضلاتي - البفن على وجه الخصوص - ولكني أيضًا أحب أن أتحدى الحيوانات الجديدة وأنا سعيد جدًا بقبول العمولات لمشاهد معينة أو الحياة البرية. 

IMG_20190720_123035.jpg
IMG_20190227_081914.jpg
thumbnail (4).jpg
اين انا الأن؟

كان عام 2021 عامًا حافلًا بالأحداث! ولدت فتاتنا الصغيرة روزي ماي في أبريل 2020 وهي الآن تركض في الأرجاء مسببة الفوضى وترغب عمومًا في المشاركة في كل ما أفعله. إنها تحب تجربة الخياطة والرسم والرسم والعزف على البيانو. كان هذا الموسم هو الأكثر ازدحامًا بالنسبة لي والأطول أيضًا ، مع وجود الكثير من الزوار حتى نهاية أكتوبر! أنا الآن مفتوح عن طريق التعيين فقط من نوفمبر حتى 1 أبريل لمنحني المزيد من الوقت مع روزي. نقوم حاليًا بتقطير الأغنام ونخطط لحمل الحمل في العام المقبل ، بالإضافة إلى الاستعداد لعيد الميلاد وجميع طلباتي المخصصة! نتطلع إلى موسم الأعياد ، أتمنى لكم جميعًا الاستمتاع بموسم جيد!  

xx

IMG_20210918_112638_1.jpg
IMG_20210901_104945.jpg
IMG_20210820_105644.jpg

My Story...

Crossbost Harris Tweed

​Growing up we were home-educated for a couple of years, during which time our mother enabled us to try out all kinds of textile crafts including felting, dying, spinning and weaving. After visiting the Isle of Harris for the first time I fell in love with Harris Tweed and dreamed of creating my own cloth.  My mother bought me a table top harris loom for my birthday and I experimented with yarns, colours  and designs. During another visit to the islands a few years later I was able to participate in a spinning session which increased my interest in creating my own cloth.

  I bought myself a spinning wheel and practiced spinning, dying my own yarn, and weaving into colourful fabrics. My dream to weave harris tweed I never seriously considered as the idea of moving to the Islands seemed unobtainable.

Years later, however, I was desperate to move out of the Wirral, where I had been living during university, and was pouring over property prices when I realised, we might just be able to do it. I told my mother and siblings that my husband and I were planning on moving to the Isle of Lewis, but far from dismay they said they were going to come too! This is when the little spark of excitement started that maybe becoming a weaver wasnt so unobtainable...

Two years on and I had purchased a rundown property in Crossbost and my sister had bought an even more delapidated croft house in Ranish. We moved in autumn  2017, to a house with no heating, no insulation, bare concrete floors, broken windows and missing a staircase! My dream of becomming a weaver went on a back burner as with no funds and nowhere to weave that was going to have to wait.

Ten months after moving however I was talking to a local weaver in the shop where I had been selling my clothing and jewellery and I mentioned my desire to become a weaver. Speaking with him ignited that excitement once again and I began to seriously look into making my dream a reality. When the same weaver rang me only a couple of weeks later to say he had found me a loom, I decided to just go for it!

Being blessed with a builder for a husband we decided to build a weaving shed in the garden. Some generous donations of materials, a bank loan and some serious scrimping later I have the most stunning shed a girl could wish for!

In 2018 I passed my test piece, produced my first paid roll for the mill and moved the loom into my new shed, I am now weaving my own unique designs, selling some of the cloth and using the rest to create my clothing, bags, home wear and accessories. In 2019 I taught my sister to weave. After passing her test piece and becoming a registered weaver, she now weaves on my loom to help increase my output as I had a baby girl in April 2020 which has limited my weaving time somewhat!

the weaving shed
a harris tweed weaver
hattersley loom
Western Isles Designs

As a child I was incredibly fortunate to have a mother who, from the moment we were able to, encouraged us to sew, knit, paint, draw and write. On holiday we would keep diaries and sketchbooks, at home we would create barbies latest outfit, knit our own winter woolies and paint the stunning forest in which we lived. My first solo creation was a satin ballgown with pink rose buds for barbie of which I was inordiantly proud. From then on I was always getting out the sewing machine and experimenting. Some of those early works I look back on and cringe!

Aged 19 I worked in a menswear store in Birkenhead, and from there was head hunted to manage an independent mens tailors where I also carried out alterations to garments. This gave me access to a world of fabric and designs, and built my experience in measuring, creating and tailoring garments as well as enabling me to sell bags, waistcoats, jewellery and accessories through the shop.

I made my dream move to the Outer Hebrides in autumn 2017. From my studio in the tiny village of Crossbost on the Isle of Lewis I work on my creations. These are then sold via my studio shop, online and in my outlet space in Stornoway in a shop new for 2020, The Empty House! 

harris tweed tunic
harris tweed cloak
harris tweed tunic dress
Western Isles Jewellery

Growing up in the Forest of Dean and spending holidays in the Outer Hebrides I was inspired by nature from a very early age. I was always collecting leaves, twigs, shells, stones, interesting bones and feathers. Then thinking; now what do I do with this? Making displays, creating ‘interesting’ wearable art and generally cluttering the house in a satifying way. After moving to the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides in the autumn of 2017 this magpie habit continued with the stunning oportunities provided by the pristine white beaches covered in delicate, colourful and infinitely varied shells. It was my desire to display the incredible detail in each unique find that led to the creation of Western Isles Jewellery.

IMG_20190519_154656.jpg
a harris tweed weaver
IMG_20190519_154636.jpg
Western Isles Art

I have always drawn and painted but having had no formal training beyond GCSE Art I always thought no-one would want to purchase my paintings. I did sell a couple of pet portraits at college, but that was the extent of my professional art career! However when I moved up here I had to draw and paint the wildlife and scenery around me and after sharing on Facebook had my first two sales! This gave me the confidence to try out my work at a local craft fair and they sold straight away. Since then my skills have increased and my confidence in my subject matter, something that is hugely satisfying to look back on. I love to capture the surrounding landscapes - especially fleeting moments such as sunrise, sunset, snow, tides etc. and the local wildlife and croft animals. I have my favorites - puffins especially - but also love being challenged by new animals and am very happy to accept commissions for specific scenes or wildlife. 

IMG_20190720_123035.jpg
IMG_20190227_081914.jpg
thumbnail (4).jpg
Where am I now?

2020 was an eventful year! Covid and lockdown meant we didn't have tourists until the middle of the summer and then it was a crazy busy season. Autumn and Winter lockdowns meant moving the business almost entirely online and closing the shop which is where we are at currently, although I am hoping for at least a reduced tourist season later in the year. Anyway Covid wasn't even remotely the most important thing that happened to us last year - we had a baby in April 2020, Rosie-May.  I am still working, because I am addicted to making things (I was knitting well into labour), Rosie-May sits on my lap while I sew, or plays on the floor or runs around in her walker chasing the animals and generally causing chaos! She is fascinated by everything I make and I don't think it will be long before she is sewing, drawing, knitting and generally creating her own designs! 

122770284_4825881300756125_7659050678286
104124984_4173897375954524_9017124200690
145153955_5254076491269935_9769663970207